Opposition, govt MPs m4rk first 4nniversary of Sheraton Move

PETALING JAYA: Opposition MPs and members of the government have taken to social media to mark the first anniversary of the Sheraton Move, which eventually led to the downfall of the Pakatan Harapan (PH) government.

Bayan Baru MP Sim Tze Tzin described it as “the darkest moment” in Malaysia’s political history, lamenting how a legitimate government voted in by the people was brought down by “betrayals”.

“Never forget. We will fight back!” he said in a Facebook post.

Bukit Mertajam MP Steven Sim said it was a day to remember the “betrayal of Malaysians”, adding that the current government had come up with various “false narratives” in trying to seize power.

The “traitors” came up with various narratives, he said in a Twitter post, “supposedly wanting to take care of the Malays and manage Covid-19. After a year, the economy, (the) Covid-19 situation and education (are) in shambles”.

But, he said, young leaders and MPs have resolved to continue working for the people regardless of positions, adding that it would have been easy to throw in the towel after the Sheraton Move.

“Let the people judge. Our work goes on. This is the new kind of politics. Any of the old leaders who want to keep up with their old politics, please go ahead.”

Lembah Pantai MP Fahmi Fadzil expressed his “condolences” to Malaysia’s democracy in remembering the Sheraton Move.

“A year of betrayal. A year of an illegitimate government. A year of political disaster in our nation,” he said on Twitter.

Meanwhile, de facto law minister Takiyuddin Hassan also took to Twitter to commemorate the fall of the PH “regime”, which he accused of being not in touch with the people, and was opportunistic.

“Thankfully it was replaced by a government that cares for the people. No one will be left behind. #StaySafeStayStrong.”

In a reply to Takiyuddin’s post, Fahmi sarcastically congratulated the minister for being part of an “illegitimate government without a majority, that’s scared to call for Parliament to sit”.

Leave a Reply