3 Perak reps who joined PBM did not withdraw support for state


The current state administration will not be affected after two assemblymen from Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) and an Independent officially joined Parti Bangsa Malaysia (PBM).

Perak Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Saarani Mohamad said as long as the state government has enough seats, it should not be a problem to run the current administration.

“Now we have 36 representatives who are still supporting the current government, and those three only jumped to another party but they are not withdrawing support for the state government.

“So there should not be any implication to the state government,” he told reporters after attending the ground-breaking ceremony for the Jalan Tambun upgrading works here, today.

Also present were Youth and Sports Minister, Datuk Seri Ahmad Faizal Azumu, Sunway Group chairman Tan Sri Dr Jeffry Cheah and Ipoh mayor, Datuk Rumaizi Baharin.

It was reported that two assemblymen from Bersatu namely A. Sivasubramanian (Buntong) and Paul Yong Choo Kiong (Tronoh), as well as Leong Cheok Keng (Independent-Malim Nawar), had joined the newly launched party, PBM.

During PBM’s extraordinary general meeting (EGM) on Jan 8, Sivasubramaniam and Yong were elected as vice-president and treasurer general, respectively, while Leong was appointed as a PBM supreme council member.

On Jan 19 last year, Leong was sacked from DAP with immediate effect as he had applied to join MCA.

The Perak state assembly comprises 25 Barisan Nasional assemblymen, DAP (15), Parti Amanah Negara (5), Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (4), Pas (3), PKR (3), Parti Bangsa Malaysia (3) and independent (1) .


One thought on “3 Perak reps who joined PBM did not withdraw support for state

Leave a Reply