New state committee responsible for ‘third DAP wave’ in Sarawak


DAP veteran leader Lim Kit Siang is disappointed with the results of the 12th Sarawak election as the party only managed to retain only two seats, namely Padungan and Pending.

He said he had expected DAP to win Kota Sentosa, Bukit Assek, Pelawan, Tanjong Batu and Pujut, but these seats were wrested by Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS).

“I can understand the frustration and disappointment of the people that the Pakatan Harapan federal government did not do more in its 22 months in power before it was undemocratically toppled.”

“But I disagree with those who suggested that the DAP should break away from Pakatan Harapan (PH) without trying to make it work,” he said in a statement today.

Therefore, Lim said the newly-elected Sarawak DAP committee will be responsible for launching the third ‘DAP wave’ in Sarawak.

Yesterday, Padungan assemblyman and Stampin member of Parliament (MP) Chong Chieng Jen was re-elected as Democratic Action Party (DAP) Sarawak chairman for the 2021-2024 term at the Sarawak DAP Ordinary Convention held here.

Meanwhile, Lanang MP Alice Lau is now its deputy chairman after the incumbent (deputy chairman) David Wong Kee Woan was ousted in the state party polls.

Bandar Kuching MP Dr Kelvin Yii holds the publicity secretary post while Mordi Bimol remains as vice-chairman, while Oscar Ling Chai Yew joins the ranks as vice-chairman as well.

Alan Ling Sie Kiong retains his post as DAP Sarawak secretary, while the post of assistant secretary, previously held by Dr Yii, goes to Larry Asap.

Lim, who is also the Iskandar Putri MP said the first ‘DAP wave’ in Sarawak started from 1978 to 1996 and the party finally achieved the breakthrough of having three DAP Sarawak state assemblymen – the late Wong Ho Leng (Bukit Assek), the late Wong Sing Nang (Pelawan) and Wong Sing Ai (Kidurong).

The second ‘DAP wave’, he said, was when the DAP won 12 state seats in the 10th Sarawak state election in 2011 under the leadership of the late Wong Ho Leng.

“But it ended with a rather poor performance in the 12th Sarawak election in December last year, with only two DAP state assembly persons; Chong and Violet Yong for Pending,” he said.

“So, the third wave would be under the leadership of Chong, who is re-elected to lead the party in Sarawak.”

“We must persevere in our struggle to make a better Malaysia and a better Sarawak – not for our own, but for the sake of our children and their future. We have made great progress although we have also suffered setbacks,” he added.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker