Two Sabah DAP assemblymen, ex-senator quit party


Two state assemblymen and a former senator from Sabah DAP announced their withdrawal from the party last night.

They are Sri Tanjong’s Justin Wong Yung Bin; Elopura assemblyman Calvin Chong Ket Kiun and former senator Adrian Lasimbang.

In a joint statement, they said the action was partly due to the failure of the Sabah DAP to implement its mission to defend Sabahans’ rights.

“We embarked on a political career to fight for Sabah, including for more autonomy, better infrastructure, and even more importantly, an inclusive society that transcends race and religion.

“Unfortunately, we did not achieve this through the Sabah DAP,” they said in the statement.

Following the actions, Sabah DAP now has only four assemblymen, namely Frankie (Tanjong Papat), Phoong Jin Zhe (Luyang), Jannie Lasimbang (Kapayan) and Tan Lee Fatt (Likas).

During the Sabah State Election in September 2020, the Sabah DAP lost only one seat in Bingkor out of the seven seats it contested.

Sabah DAP became the second opposition party to lose assemblymen after Parti Warisan on grounds losing faith in the party leadership.

Warisan has so far lost five assemblymen including the latest for Melalap who is also its former vice-president, Datuk Peter Anthony and Limbahau assemblyman, Datuk Juil Nuatim.


Leave a Reply